A modern
mining company

OZ Minerals Board Appointment

Posted 23 July 2009

ASX Releases

OZ Minerals’ Chairman, Mr. Barry Cusack, today announced the appointment of Mr. Paul Dowd as a Non-Executive Director of the Company effective 23 July 2009.

Mr Dowd is a Mining Engineer with more than 40 years experience as a mining professional. Until 2006, Mr. Dowd was Managing Director of Newmont Australia Limited and Vice President Australia and New Zealand Operations for Newmont Mining Corporation. Mr Dowd’s experience also includes a period as Group Executive – Operations for Normandy Mining Limited with responsibility for the Group’s global managed mining interests, including eight Australian operations and four spread over Africa, Europe and Asia. He also served in the Victorian public sector as Head of the Mines and Petroleum Departments during the Kennett Government. A summary of his current roles is attached.

Mr Cusack said “Paul Dowd’s extensive resources industry experience, in both the private and public sectors, along with his experience as a Company Director, will be of great value to OZ Minerals.”

OZ Minerals announced in May that Mr Terry Burgess would be the new Managing Director and CEO of the Company. Today, Mr Burgess was formally appointed to the position of Managing Director of the Company with effect 1 August 2009.

For further information please contact:

Natalie Worley
Group Manager External Relations
T: +61 3 9288 0345
M: +61 409210462

Richard Hedstrom
Group Manager Investor Relations
T: +61 3 9288 0333

Paul John Dowd BSc (Eng)

Current Directorships:

Chairman, RESA, (the SA Resources & Engineering Skills Alliance)
Chairman, RESIC, (the Resources Sector Infrastructure Council of South Australia)
Chairman, Adelaide Resources Limited
Non-Executive Director, Northgate Minerals Corp (Canada) and its wholly owned Australian subsidiaries
Non-Executive Director, Buka Gold Limited
Managing Director, Phoenix Copper Limited

Other roles:

Council Member, Parsons Brinkerhoff Australia Pacific Advisory Board.
Advisory Councillor, SAMPEG - SA Minerals and Petroleum Expert Group
Member, Advisory Council of CSIRO (MRSAC)
Member, Advisory Council of the University of Queensland - Sustainable Minerals Institute.
Commissioner, SA Training and Skills Commission (TaSC)
Advisory Member, Aboriginal Workforce Development Inter-Ministerial Committee, Government of South Australia.

Download pdf 104 KB